Financial Aid Appeals

All degree/certificate-seeking students must meet satisfactory academic progress (SAP) standards in order to establish and maintain eligibility for federal financial aid. These standards are monitored and reviewed each semester. If these standards are not met, students may be placed on warning or denied financial aid.

CEI is required by federal regulation to develop and apply a standard for satisfactory academic progress (SAP) for students receiving federal financial aid. This includes a qualitative and quantitative standard. A student is required to maintain at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point average and complete at least 67% of the courses attempted. In addition, the maximum timeframe for financial aid is defined as 150% of the published degree requirements. Failure to maintain SAP will result in a warning or denial of financial aid.

Other Types of Financial Aid Appeals

The process of determining a student's financial aid eligibility is the same for all applicants based on the FAFSA calculation; however, there is some flexibility when students and/or their families experience significant changes in circumstances from the initial FAFSA filing in their ability to meet educational costs, known as Professional Judgments.

The most common types of changes in circumstances occur when families experience a job loss or income reduction, the death or divorce of student's parent or spouse, or a change in student's marital status. The Financial Aid Office may consider a student's unusual circumstances to make adjustments to the FAFSA data elements used to calculate the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and/or change a student's dependency status, according to federal education laws and guidelines set by the U.S. Department of Education.

John E. Christofferson
Multi-Purpose Building

Room 353
Phone: (208) 524-3000
Fax: (208) 525-7026